Why OpenID does not work for me

I often wonder, why I am not using OpenID login more often. Here are a few reasons, in no particular order:

  • Not all services use OpenID, so there is still a need to manage passwords.
  • Password management works quite well with KeePass application.
  • If I’d use OpenID, I usually can not remember, for which service I use OpenID and for which a traditional login, adding another layer of cognitive complexity to the login process.
  • If the OpenID service provider goes out of business, it would create a major identity management disaster for all affected sites.
  • Logging in with OpenID takes longer and more clicks than username/password, esp. if above mentioned KeePass is used.
  • I don’t want to share my identity across various services, thus allowing cross-references and profiling.
Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
